Improve readme
authorChristian Weiske <cweiske@cweiske.de>
Sat, 29 Dec 2018 17:20:43 +0000 (18:20 +0100)
committerChristian Weiske <cweiske@cweiske.de>
Sat, 29 Dec 2018 17:22:09 +0000 (18:22 +0100)
README.rst

index 1f0b42b..6c687c6 100644 (file)
@@ -4,7 +4,7 @@ NextCloud SQL address book plugin for Roundcube
 
 Roundcube__ plugin that allows access to NextCloud__ address books.
 Uses direct database access (SQL), which is much faster than accessing the
-address book entries via CardDAV__.
+address book entries via the `CardDAV plugin`__.
 
 __ https://roundcube.net/
 __ https://nextcloud.com/
@@ -26,13 +26,31 @@ Missing features
 
 Prerequisites
 =============
-- Read-only SQL database access from Roundcube to the NextCloud database
+- Read-only SQL database access from Roundcube to the NextCloud database.
+  Read access to the following tables needed:
+
+  - ``oc_addressbooks``
+  - ``oc_cards_properties``
 - Roundcube user login e-mail addresses must equal the username in NextCloud
   (Users log in with `alice@example.org` in both Roundcube and NextCloud)
 
 
+Installation
+============
+#. Clone the git repository into the roundcube ``plugins/`` directory as
+   ``nextcloud_sql_addressbook``.
+#. Copy ``config.inc.php.dist`` to ``config.inc.php`` and adjust it:
+
+   #. Database connection
+   #. Table prefix (defaults to ``oc_``)
+#. Enable the plugin in roundcube's ``config/config.inc.php`` file by
+   adding it to the ``$config['plugins']`` array.
+
+
 Debugging
 =========
 If you do not see any address books:
 The address books are only found if the ``principaluri`` in the ``oc_addressbooks``
 table equals ``principals/users/`` + ``$useremailaddress``.
+
+If you do not see all contacts: Only contacts with an e-mail address are shown.